BBMP – Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike

The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) (Eng: Greater Bangalore Municipal Body), is the new administrative body responsible for the civic and infrastructural assets of the city of Bangalore, India. It was formed in 2007 by merging 100 wards of the erstwhile Bangalore Mahanagara Palike, along with 7 City Municipal Councils(CMC) (Rajarajeshwari, Dasarahalli, Bommanahalli, Krishnarajapuram, Mahadevapura, Byatarayanapura and Yelahanka), one Town Municipal Council (Kengeri) and 111 villages around Bangalore.

The BBMP represents the third level of government, (the Central government and State Government being the first two levels). Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike is run by a city council. The city council comprises elected representatives, called “corporators”, one from each of the wards (localities) of the city. Elections to the council are held once every 5 years, with results being decided by popular vote. Members contesting elections to council represent one of more of the state’s political parties. However, elections to the newly-created body are yet to be held, due to delays in delimitation of wards and finalising voter lists. There are expected to be about 150 wards, up from the 100 wards of the old Bangalore Mahanagara Palike.


The history of municipal governance of Bangalore dates back to March 27, 1862, when nine leading citizens of the city formed a Municipal Board under the Improvement of Towns Act of 1850. Later, a similar Municipal Board was also formed in the Cantonment area of the city. The two boards were legalized in 1881, and functioned as two independent bodies called the Bangalore City Municipality and the Bangalore Civil and Military Station Municipality. The following year, the concept of elected representatives come into being and also saw the introduction of property tax.

After Indian independence, the two Municipal Boards were merged to form the Corporation of the City of Bangalore in 1949, under the Bangalore City Corporation Act. The corporation then consisted of 70 elected representatives and 50 electoral divisions. The name of the council then changed — first to Bangalore City Corporation (BCC) and then to Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BMP).

In January 2007, the Karnataka Government issued a notification to merge the areas under existing Bangalore Mahanagara Palike with seven City municipal council (CMC)’s, one Town municipal council (TMC) and 111 villages around the city to form a single administrative body, Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike. The process was completed by April 2007 and the body was renamed ‘Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike’.

For more info visit the BBMP website:


A mayor and deputy mayor of the council are also elected for a period of 1 year, though not by popular vote. The post of the mayor and deputy mayor are filled through a quota system to a Scheduled Castes and Tribes candidate or to an Other Backward Class female candidate from among the elected Councilors. However, in the absence of an elected body, the BBMP is run by an Administrator and a Commissioner, who are appointed by the State Government. The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike is responsible for civic and infrastructural requirements of the city. It often works in conjunction with other civic bodies such as the Agenda for Bengaluru Infrastructure Development Task Force (ABIDe) and the Bangalore Development Authority (BDA) to design and implement civic and infrastructural projects.

For more info visit the BBMP website:

Roles & Responsibilities:

The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike is the fourth largest Municipal Corporation in India, after the city corporations that administer Mumbai, Delhi and Chennai. The BBMP is responsible for infrastructural assets of the Greater Bangalore Metropolitan area, spread across 741 km (square), with a population of 6.8 million.

Its roles and responsibilities include the “orderly development of the city” — zoning and building regulations, health, hygiene, licensing, trade and education, as well as quality of life issues such as lung spaces, water bodies, parks and greenery.

BMP (Bangalore Mahanagara Palike) has killed over 25 lakh (2,5 million) stray dogs from 1939 to 1999 for population management and rabies-eradication.

For more info visit the BBMP website:

For layouts, the BDA is the plan-sanctioning authority for all areas under the purview of the BBMP as well as the BDA. The BBMP itself has no powers to sanction layout plans but can sanction apartments, individual houses and commercial buildings. The BBMP administers and collects property tax for properties falling under the jurisdiction of the BBMP.

What is the difference between BDA (Bangalore Development Authority) and BBMP?

Development of Bangalore in a planned manner, creating quality infrastructure, provision of sites and services and catering to the housing needs of the under privileged are the focus areas of the BDA.
Where as BBMP maintains layout that are developed and approved by BDA also BBMP is responsible for infrastructural assets of the Greater Bangalore Metropolitan area.

Join The Discussion

Compare listings